• Think Of A Number – Johnny Ball – S01E03 September 1979 – 70s UK Kids TV Science and Maths
  • Think of a number between 1 and 10
  • Think of a Number – Light – Johnny Ball
  • Johnny Ball – Think Of A Number – Flight
  • Maths Magic – Think of a number
  • I Will Predict Your Number – Math Magic Trick
  • Think of a Number by John Verdon – Book Trailer
  • Think of a Number!!!!
  • Think of a Number
  • THINK OF A NUMBER!!
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: £2.99 (as of December 15, 2017 9:53 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Also available on amazon.com for £2.99 (as of October 19, 2017 6:16 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Think of a Number is the chilling debut from John Verdon.

It begins with a letter . . . The letter contains a request – think of a number, any number – and a sealed envelope. Inside the envelope is that number.

When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is at first little more than a diverting but sinister puzzle. Until the acquaintance is brutally killed.

Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense. The killer seems to have known his victim intimately. How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions? How did he know his darkest secrets?

The killer is smart and he is playing with the police. Gurney needs to be smarter if he's going to catch him, but this seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end.

Think of a Number is the debut from John Verdon and is the first in a series starring the retired detective Dave Gurney. In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay, John Verdon's unique high-concept plot and memorable cast of series characters will be a major hit with thriller fans. Subsequent titles include let The Devil Sleep and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Praise for John Verdon:

'The best thriller I've read in a long, long time' Tess Gerritsen

'Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year' The Sun

John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York. His first two Dave Gurney novels are Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2604 KB
  • Print Length: 434 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (5 Aug. 2010)
  • Sold by:  Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003ZDNNT4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

It had me hooked!

14 people found this helpful.
 on 27 October 2010
By Gemma
Crime thrillers are my favourite read, however I do read a lot of them and so these days, it takes something special to get me excited about a book and to have me hooked, and I’m pleased to say this one had me hooked.

Really enjoyable read

 on 14 May 2013
By Alison McBrearty
Really enjoyed this book and have recommended it to friends and colleagues, Good plot and twists and turns left you with “edge of the seat” reading Could have an educated guess about half way through but the “why’s and wherefores” were well hidden.

Intelligent and intriguing modern day mystery

One person found this helpful.
 on 4 November 2012
By Rowena Hoseason
This an interesting first novel which takes a very traditional crime conundrum (effectively a locked-room murder although it happens out in the open) and runs with the theme in modern day America. The key investigator is a retired police detective, famous for bringing down serial killers in his time but now struggling to come to terms with life after work in an unfamiliar rural environment. The result is a clever combination of Agatha Christie era mystery and modern day police procedural/thriller — and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

658

 on 21 May 2017
By Amazon Customer
I don’t normally go for this genre but, following a recommendation on a “books you won’t be able to put down” list on the internet, I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed it. I liked the unhurried pace and the way the tension built over time. I suppose we all like to put ourselves in the detective role when reading this kind of book and I was flushed with success that I managed to work out the number 19 clue before the cop!

Good page turner, but really three and a half stars.

 on 15 October 2010
By Johnnybluetime
Retired star NYPD homicide detective, Dave Gurney, is asked for help by an old college friend who has received a baffling note containing a threatening poem and the instruction to think of a number, which the note writer predicts will be 658, and the instruction that, if the prediction is correct, to send $298.87 to a post office box number.Gurney, who has probably retired too soon, is intrigued by the correct prediction and despite his reservations is drawn into the investigation when his old friend receives more threatening notes.

A readable and intricate crime novel

 on 14 October 2010
By S. Diment
“Think of a Number” is an intelligently written crime novel, which starts with an intriguing series of messages. It’s about deduction and crime solving, in the vein of Agatha Christie and PD James, rather than the more action packed crime thrillers I normally associate with US authors. There seems to be a killer out there who can read minds, and can predict the answer to a question before it has even been asked. How did he/she know what number you were thinking of?
Related eBooks

Leave a Reply