• Think of a number between 1 and 10
  • Think Of A Number – Johnny Ball – S01E03 September 1979 – 70s UK Kids TV Science and Maths
  • Johnny Ball – Think Of A Number – Flight
  • Think of a Number – Light – Johnny Ball
  • Maths Magic – Think of a number
  • Jojee – Think Of Anything
  • Think of a number now
  • Think of a Number
  • I Am Going to Read Your Mind – Magic Trick
  • Think of a number 1-10 and I will do some magic
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: £2.99 (as of February 24, 2018 6:01 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Also available on amazon.com for £2.99 (as of February 24, 2018 6:01 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Think of a Number is the chilling debut from John Verdon.

It begins with a letter . . . The letter contains a request – think of a number, any number – and a sealed envelope. Inside the envelope is that number.

When Dave Gurney, retired NYPD homicide detective, is contacted by an old college acquaintance about some startling letters he's been receiving, it is at first little more than a diverting but sinister puzzle. Until the acquaintance is brutally killed.

Suddenly Gurney finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that makes no sense. The killer seems to have known his victim intimately. How else was he able to predict his victim's thoughts, even his actions? How did he know his darkest secrets?

The killer is smart and he is playing with the police. Gurney needs to be smarter if he's going to catch him, but this seems only to be the beginning. And the killer alone knows where it will end.

Think of a Number is the debut from John Verdon and is the first in a series starring the retired detective Dave Gurney. In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay, John Verdon's unique high-concept plot and memorable cast of series characters will be a major hit with thriller fans. Subsequent titles include let The Devil Sleep and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Praise for John Verdon:

'The best thriller I've read in a long, long time' Tess Gerritsen

'Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year' The Sun

John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York. His first two Dave Gurney novels are Think of a Number and Shut Your Eyes Tight.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2604 KB
  • Print Length: 434 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (5 Aug. 2010)
  • Sold by:  Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003ZDNNT4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

Killing by numbers

 on 31 March 2015
By still searching
I ordered this book on the basis of the largely positive reviews and I’m very glad I did. Although, as others have mentioned, it gets off to rather a slow start it quickly accelerates once the hero, retired NYPD detective, Dave Gurney, takes the `bait’ in the form of a phone call from an old college friend.

Compelling

 on 17 May 2015
By Columbyne
I have enormous admiration for this author. I have enjoyed this book immensely – and read it far too quickly, but it was compelling. I heeded the warning of those who disliked the prologue, and found that it was short and although slightly repelling it is SO relevant! Carry on into the book and the prose is excellent, at times poetic but never verbose. The plot is refreshingly different from what appears to have become a rather formulaic genre, and keeps the reader guessing right to the end. I can’t wait to read this author’s other books, and would thoroughly recommend this one.

"Think of a number"

 on 18 March 2011
By book fan
“Think of a number” is the debut novel of John Verdon and the inside cover is liberally sprinkled with glowing praise from other well known thriller writers, for once the praise is justified. Verdon has crafted an absolutely stunning novel in this book, which from the first page had me gripped with the beautifully worded narrative, which is full of wonderful dialogue and memorable characters who practically leap from the page with life. Some of them are also quite amusing in a subtle way, particularly some of the investigation team such as Hardwick and Blatt but otherwise this a pretty serious subject matter with a killer who has a an ingenious method of finding his victim’s which will leave the reader totally perplexed until all becomes clear. Yes this is certainly a thriller to get the brain cells working, but an amazingly enjoyable one too and to think it’s a first novel, can’t wait for further output from Verdon and I will be so bold has to say that this is the best novel I have read this year and that’s saying something because I have read quite a few. To sum up, if you love serial killer thrillers don’t miss this one, it’s fantastic.

John Verdon – please write some more

 on 13 May 2012
By Friends fan
John Verdon has only written 2 books and this is the first one. I read the second one first not realising this, as I got it as a present. I was so enthralled with the book (Eyes Tight Shut) that I just had to have this one. It is a very intriguing story and so well written you cannot put it down (just like the second novel). It is a murder story but with puzzles which keep you guessing right up to the end. I recommend anyone who enjoys a mystery murder, which is well written without a lot of waffle, with twists and turns that keep you guessing but does not confuse you, then read these two books by John Verdon. I certainly am looking out for his next one.

Think of a Number

 on 24 January 2018
By Anita Page
Loved this debut novel so much I have bought the next ones he has written. Great storyline, loved the detective. Have shared it with a few friends and we all love it. Highly recommend.

A clever thriller!!!!!!

 on 8 April 2012
By Silvia
Packs a terrific punch!!!

Clever thriller

 on 2 January 2013
By Lizzie
I liked this, a well written, absorbing thriller. No gung-ho lead character. He just puzzles and thinks his way through the task in hand.

Pure, Dead, Brilliant!

 on 11 February 2013
By M. Harris
After a Bit of a slow start I couldn’t put this down. The twists and turns kept me glued to my kindle. The main character was deep, flawed but very appealing. The evil villain a twisted horror. Now going to return to the kindle store to seek out follow up novels by Mr Verdon.

Real mystery

 on 13 March 2013
By Mrs. Anne Griffiths
Half way through this book and really enjoying it. Good plot and characters story still developing and I haven’t got a clue of who done it!
Related eBooks

Leave a Reply