• Cold Case Files: Vanished
  • Vanished: Leigh Occhi | DARK MATTERS #29
  • The FBI Files: Season 4 – Ep 5 "Vanished"
  • American Justice Full Episodes Vanished
  • VANISHED: Brian Shaffer | DARK MATTERS #27
  • Crystal Castles – Vanished
  • Vanished Without A Trace (1993-TV)
  • 12 People Who Mysteriously Vanished Caught on Video
  • THE DISAPPEARANCE OF KRISTEN MODAFFERI – VANISHED: SOLVING A 20 YR MYSTERY ?!
  • Maura Murray 2020 on ID Vanished Missing Coeds Brooke Wilberger and Maura Murray Murders HD
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: £3.99 (as of February 21, 2018 9:06 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Also available on amazon.com for £3.99 (as of February 21, 2018 9:06 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Vanished is the brilliant new missing persons case in the David Raker series by Tim Weaver.

No life is perfect. Everyone has secrets.

For millions of Londoners, the morning of 17 December is just like any other. But not for Sam Wren. An hour after leaving home, he gets onto a tube train – and never gets off again. No eyewitnesses. No trace of him on security cameras. Six months later, he's still missing.

Out of options and desperate for answers, Sam's wife Julia hires David Raker to track him down. Raker has made a career out of finding the lost. He knows how they think. And, in missing person cases, the only certainty is that everyone has something to hide.

But in this case the secrets go deeper than anyone imagined.

For, as Raker starts to suspect that even the police are lying to him, someone is watching. Someone who knows what happened on the tube that day. And, with Raker in his sights, he'll do anything to keep Sam's secrets to himself . . .

Vanished marks the return of an amazing thriller talent – Tim Weaver, author of Chasing the Dead, and The Dead Tracks. Fans of Mo Hayder's Gone and Michael Marshall Smith's The Straw Men should look this way.

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Impressive debut . . . Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell' Guardian

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves' Bookgeeks

'A taut thriller' Barry Forshaw

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath. Vanished is Tim's third David Raker novel, which follow his highly acclaimed debut Chasing the Dead and its sequel, The Dead Tracks. Tortured by his wife's early death, David Raker is one of the most charismatic, sensitive and unique missing persons investigators in current crime fiction.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2481 KB
  • Print Length: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; 2nd Revised edition edition (19 July 2012)
  • Sold by:  Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0241954401
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241954409
  • ASIN: B008674R8U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

Good with one niggle

12 people found this helpful.
 on 2 December 2015
By Palwebstar
It’s gripping and Healy is a very original character (more so than Raker). It kept my attention throughout and I looked forward to reading on. The only niggle I have concerns the misplaced Americanisms. For example, people don’t use the lift, they “ride the elevator”. Really? In London? Has the public ever called the lifts at Tube stations by that name? The wackiest example is the author’s use of “out of” in place of that simple preposition “in” (e.g. a receptionist is described as working “out of” a building. Is the welcome desk in the car park?) These affectations are presumably meant to give the book a hard-boiled mean-streets touch. Give it up, Mr Weaver, it’s cringeworthy.

Another great installment in the David Raker series

2 people found this helpful.
 on 26 July 2017
By Marie Holland – crimeandmysterybookreview.wordpress.com
For millions of Londoners, the morning of 16 December is just like any other. But not for Sam Wren. An hour after leaving home, he gets on a Tube train – and never gets off again. No witnesses. No trace of him on security cameras. Six months later, he’s still missing.

great crime novel

 on 12 March 2016
By Aly
I ordered Tim Weavers first three books for my husband for Xmas. He has enjoyed many crime novels in the past but his favourites are Jeffrey Deaver, Chris Carter and Val McDermid. After a bit of research I reckoned that he would probably enjoy Tim Weavers novels as they are based around a Private Investigator who specialises in recovering missing people – but the journey to find these souls take him into dark and dangerous places and he encouters cruel and sadistic perpetrators. Its sort of edge of your seat stuff. Anyway my Husband is now on the fifth book – having bounded through the first three and ordered the next three himself. He says they are gripping and have twists and turns and the main character is believable and you invest in his journeys. So if you like a good crime novel thats a real page turner then my Husband says give these a go.

Vanished – gone

 on 1 September 2013
By Noel
Earlier this year I read ‘The Dead Tracks’ 

Outstanding

 on 11 July 2013
By ***Jesus Loves YOU!***
Vanished is the best thriller I have read in such a long time. I fell in love with David Raker right at the beginning and I haven’t even read the first book, Chasing the Dead where his story actually starts. It seems I have the 2nd and 3rd books but not the 1st and 4th. I will have to remedy that situation and fast!

gruesome and enthralling

 on 10 January 2018
By Lynda
I so enjoyed this novel which kept me guessing about what had happened to the man on the train who”disappeared” oneday. So many suspects and a great detective but the surprise as to who the killer actually was and why was great. Some wonderful descriptions of the workings of London Underground which was fascinating and an ending I couldn’t believe I was reading.

A good read found

 on 27 December 2013
By Jennifertapir
I downloaded this to read over the holidays – the reviews looked good and it is part of a series (often a positve sign). It is a pacey, entertaining read with a tantalising lost person, who simply disapears on the London Underground. The story expands to include a series of mysterious abductions. The hero, David Raker, is a profesional finder of missing people who appears to a rather better job of it than the police. However, there is a weakness in the novel since it is No. 3 in a series and quite a lot of the plot touches on a backstory from earlier novels – don’t you just hate it when this happens? There is also a fairly high level of violence, so be warned.

Gripping well written novel

One person found this helpful.
 on 8 August 2017
By Mrs. G
This is my first book by the author. Despite not having read #1 or #2 in the series, the characters were not difficult to understand and the story didn’t lack continuity. A bit dark in p,aces, but a gripping novel.

Brilliant

One person found this helpful.
 on 18 November 2017
By rainbow
This was a page turning read although left me mystified at the end. Never the less still really enjoyed it.
Related eBooks

Leave a Reply