Home » Amazon & Kindle » Vanished

Vanished

  • Cold Case Files: Vanished
  • Pt. 1: Hank Few Vanished On Eve Of Dead Sister’s Birthday – Crime Watch Daily with Chris Hansen
  • VANISHED: Brian Shaffer | DARK MATTERS #27
  • American Justice Full Episodes Vanished
  • Vanished | Official Trailer | Sept 28
  • Pt. 2: Hank Few Vanished On Eve Of Dead Sister’s Birthday – Crime Watch Daily with Chris Hansen
  • Pt. 4: Hank Few Vanished On Eve Of Dead Sister’s Birthday – Crime Watch Daily with Chris Hansen
  • Pt. 3: Hank Few Vanished On Eve Of Dead Sister’s Birthday – Crime Watch Daily with Chris Hansen
  • Maura Murray 2020 on ID Vanished Missing Coeds Brooke Wilberger and Maura Murray Murders HD
  • Crystal Castles – Vanished
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: £3.99 (as of October 16, 2017 2:08 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Also available on amazon.com for £3.99 (as of September 21, 2017 9:58 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Vanished is the brilliant new missing persons case in the David Raker series by Tim Weaver.

No life is perfect. Everyone has secrets.

For millions of Londoners, the morning of 17 December is just like any other. But not for Sam Wren. An hour after leaving home, he gets onto a tube train – and never gets off again. No eyewitnesses. No trace of him on security cameras. Six months later, he's still missing.

Out of options and desperate for answers, Sam's wife Julia hires David Raker to track him down. Raker has made a career out of finding the lost. He knows how they think. And, in missing person cases, the only certainty is that everyone has something to hide.

But in this case the secrets go deeper than anyone imagined.

For, as Raker starts to suspect that even the police are lying to him, someone is watching. Someone who knows what happened on the tube that day. And, with Raker in his sights, he'll do anything to keep Sam's secrets to himself . . .

Vanished marks the return of an amazing thriller talent – Tim Weaver, author of Chasing the Dead, and The Dead Tracks. Fans of Mo Hayder's Gone and Michael Marshall Smith's The Straw Men should look this way.

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Impressive debut . . . Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell' Guardian

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves' Bookgeeks

'A taut thriller' Barry Forshaw

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath. Vanished is Tim's third David Raker novel, which follow his highly acclaimed debut Chasing the Dead and its sequel, The Dead Tracks. Tortured by his wife's early death, David Raker is one of the most charismatic, sensitive and unique missing persons investigators in current crime fiction.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2481 KB
  • Print Length: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; 2nd Revised edition edition (19 July 2012)
  • Sold by:  Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0241954401
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241954409
  • ASIN: B008674R8U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

Good with one niggle

10 people found this helpful.
 on 2 December 2015
By Palwebstar
It’s gripping and Healy is a very original character (more so than Raker). It kept my attention throughout and I looked forward to reading on. The only niggle I have concerns the misplaced Americanisms. For example, people don’t use the lift, they “ride the elevator”. Really? In London? Has the public ever called the lifts at Tube stations by that name? The wackiest example is the author’s use of “out of” in place of that simple preposition “in” (e.g. a receptionist is described as working “out of” a building. Is the welcome desk in the car park?) These affectations are presumably meant to give the book a hard-boiled mean-streets touch. Give it up, Mr Weaver, it’s cringeworthy.

Another great installment in the David Raker series

One person found this helpful.
 on 26 July 2017
By Marie Holland – crimeandmysterybookreview.wordpress.com
For millions of Londoners, the morning of 16 December is just like any other. But not for Sam Wren. An hour after leaving home, he gets on a Tube train – and never gets off again. No witnesses. No trace of him on security cameras. Six months later, he’s still missing.

Excellent read.

 on 12 July 2017
By M. Illingworth
This book maintains your interest from first to last page and after hours of reading the ending is totally unexpected but still totally believable. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a thriller with many twists in the tale and likes an unexpected finale. A thoroughly enjoyable book.

Gripping well written novel

 on 8 August 2017
By Mrs. G
This is my first book by the author. Despite not having read #1 or #2 in the series, the characters were not difficult to understand and the story didn’t lack continuity. A bit dark in p,aces, but a gripping novel.

Good plot

One person found this helpful.
 on 30 March 2017
By Buffy
I enjoyed this with it’s twists and turns. made me want to keep reading.

A must have read

 on 4 July 2017
By Ann Chapman
I could not put this down. It has so many twists and turns. The end just keeps you on the edge of your seat

Five Stars

 on 2 October 2017
By em x
Another good book in the David Raker collection

Five Stars

 on 14 September 2017
By jean
Great book, twists and turns, very enjoyable.
Related eBooks

Leave a Reply